My model has a lot of polys...

Shnappz

Hey All,

I've been building a tank on 3ds... it's my first attempt so before you say it, yes i know it sucks (looking at you AircraftKiller) ;)

I did a poly count and it says like over 19,000 and i'm not even finished...

It appears that the wheels are the perpetrators each containing around 1000 polys...

How can i remedy this?

post-10200-0-15430000-1423343193_thumb.jpg

wheels are fast made, better remodel them. compare with apb or ren models. make sure the wheels are flat on the ground wheels shouldnt look like this: ()

they should look more like this; (_)

otherwise your wheels will get stuck in ground. my pc broke ill post a picture what i exactly mean when im able to use my pc again.

Edited by rackz

First, when you create something cylinder like, look at the segements and sides. They should be low.

The quickest way to reduce poly count would be something like the modifier optimize.

These two statements are both incorrect. I'll explain why:

1. Cylindrical objects require a decent amount of polygonal detail to look less like rotating hexagons and more like the object they're meant to resemble.

2. Optimize is a decimation modifier. It's not going to clean up that geometry the way a human would. You'll quite likely get very shitty decimation of the model and it'll look as if someone took a weed whacker to it. You're better off manually removing loops. In Max 2013, click on one edge and hold shift, then click on an adjacent edge to select the loop. CTRL+Backspace to remove it and the vertices attached to it. 2014 and above: double click on an edge loop and CTRL+Backspace to remove it and the vertices attached to it.

Shnappz: Here's one of my vehicles that shows you how I lay out my topology. You'll notice that my wheels have far fewer edge loops than yours do. You also need to work from reference material to really get a good feel for the geometry you're building.

gaz-66_1.jpg

gaz-66_2.jpg